After the first lighthouse was destroyed in the Civil War, the current St. Simons Lighthouse and Keeper’s Dwelling was built in 1872. A keeper was no longer needed when the light was fully automated in the mid-1950s.
In 1975 the Coastal Georgia Historical Society restored the Keeper’s Dwelling and it now houses the St. Simons Lighthouse Museum. Visitors can climb the 129 steps for fantastic views of the island.
A 150-year celebration of the lighthouse will be held Sept. 1 with music, refreshments and the premier of 15-minute light show with historical images that will continue to run nightly through September.
– Jan Schroder, The Georgia 100